Building a Walk-In Pantry

.

Those cool images of walk-in pantries on http://www.Houzz.com make me salivate. So I decided to build my own. We have a large open-concept kitchen/dining/living room. I have to tell you that open-concept is not what it’s cracked up to be. It feels cavernous, you have to keep everything tidy because nothing is private and pet hair and dust goes EVERYWHERE! I never had to dust my cooktop before I had an open-concept house. Even though it’s bucking the trend, I opted to close mine off by adding a walk-in pantry.

This would accomplish four things:
1. It would give us a proper foyer instead of walking into the kitchen through the front door
2. It would give us a dining room wall for decoration.
3. it would give us a whole lot of storage right at our fingertips and
4. the mess in the kitchen becomes private again.

But to be prudent, we didn’t drill into the tile floor but into the grout, so at some future date if we wanted to alter it, we could.

Dish racks are from Lee Valley Tools

Dish racks are from Lee Valley Tools

I refinished the kitchen cabinets using Benjamin Moore’s “Navajo White” Advance paint. It takes 30 days to cure but once it does it’s practically bomb-proof. I used a 6″ rotary sander to strip off much of the finish on the cabinets then finished the indentations by hand with fine sandpaper. I used a stain-blocking water-based primer to prevent the oak stain from seeping through. Then two coats of the Advance. Notice how the butcher block counters stand out now where before they blended in?

I refinished the old-fashioned oak cabinets by painting them.

I refinished the old-fashioned oak cabinets by painting them.

To facilitate moving the fridge out, I designed a hidden door in the kitchen/foyer wall. I love having a hidden door! If only it went somewhere wonderful and not just into my kitchen. That’s not exactly Narnia. LOL.

The hidden door. LOL That makes my kitchen sound like a Nancy Drew mystery. It was added to allow for removal of the oversized fridge.

The hidden door. LOL That makes my kitchen sound like a Nancy Drew mystery. It was added to allow for removal of the oversized fridge.

Smiles,

Laurel

Next time: Creating a Dining Room

Leave a Reply

