Christmas Decorating Laurel Style

I don’t understand people who decorate their Christmas trees the same way year after year. Mine are always different, usually radically different. For me it’s about artistic expression, not tradition. I love the creative zing I get when I create the new tree. My family waits eagerly to see what I will come up with each year. Here are a few of my favourite efforts.

2014

I went traditional (for once) with red and green on the small  black tree.

I went traditional (for once) with red and green on the small black tree.

The main tree

The main tree

This was a sled I used as a child.

This was a sled I used as a child.

Ferdinand the Bull gets the holiday spirit.

Ferdinand the Bull gets the holiday spirit.

This is actually a teak deck chair but we brought it in and dressed it up for winter.

This is actually a teak deck chair but we brought it in and dressed it up for winter.

This is one of the most fun things. Every time I walk past this, someone has rearranged the letters to form silly things.

This is one of the most fun things. Every time I walk past this, someone has rearranged the letters to form silly things.

Our house lit up with the glow from the trees in side.

Our house lit up with the glow from the trees in side.

 

2009

This is the year our old Christmas tree malfunctioned and melted! I decorated the fig tree instead.

This is the year our old Christmas tree malfunctioned and melted! I decorated the fig tree instead.

2010

Modern tree 2010

Modern tree 2010

This tree has a single copper tube in the centre with thin wires forming the tree shape. I wrapped strip lighting in a spiral tying it to the wires. Then decorated it. with an autumnal wintery theme.

This tree has a single copper tube in the centre with thin wires forming the tree shape. I wrapped strip lighting in a spiral tying it to the wires. Then decorated it. with an autumnal wintery theme.

2010

2010

This tree was wonderfully organic looking except it sparkled.

This tree was wonderfully organic looking except it sparkled.

2011

White with birds

White with birds

I added sparkly cut out words and feathers

I added sparkly cut out words and feathers

I accented the white tree with pale pink ornaments

I accented the white tree with pale pink ornaments

2011

2011

I topped it with a white feathered peacock and silver sparkly ferns.

I topped it with a white feathered peacock and silver sparkly ferns.

whimsy-tree-2011-018-1

Here's Betty Boop and a "If Santa Were Gay" themed ornaments. LOL.

Here’s Betty Boop and a “If Santa Were Gay” themed ornaments. LOL.

I got this quirky one in Portland.

I got this quirky one in Portland.

Opus.

Opus.

Christmas Cat

Christmas Cat

The crowning glory- Taz as a slightly tarnished angel with dirty wings, a crooked halo and a leather jacket. From the WB store years ago.

The crowning glory- Taz as a slightly tarnished angel with dirty wings, a crooked halo and a leather jacket. From the WB store years ago.

2012

2012 Formal in gold and black in dining room

2012 Formal in gold and black in dining room

tree-2012-001

I used gold, pink and purple sinamy garlands.

I used gold, pink and purple sinamy garlands.

I found these brightly coloured ornaments at London Drugs.

I found these brightly coloured ornaments at London Drugs.

I added purple lights on the inside of the tree and white lights on the outside for an interesting effect.

I added purple lights on the inside of the tree and white lights on the outside for an interesting effect.

Leave a Reply

